HAPPY WOMEN’S DAY?!?

So today is Women’s day! But why just a day? Maybe just like everything we agreed to adjust because that’s our duty! Trust me if you do not understand the sarcasm in that last line you need to check your thinking! It is pretty old! And you can upgrade it but for that the brain needs to work! No offense to anyone and certainly not to the male community! It’s just pure anger that is boiling inside me since I started thinking about the fakeness of women’s day celebration. I am a woman and trust me we don’t need a day. Just treat us a little bit better everyday! Maybe like an equal human! And many men try to do that these days and we appreciate it more than anything!

While I got into overthinking mode, I realised that Women’s Day is an international version of Indian Festival: Navratri! Because these are the days when most people SHOW that they respect women. But in reality you do hear at least one saying something like, everyday is yours or you run the world! The only person who actually believes that is Beyonce (because it’s her song)! Oh wait no! Person who runs the world got Beyonce to perform for his daughter’s wedding (Surname starts with ‘A’)! Or At Least person who runs India!

And the colour they have chosen to define our gender! Today the world turns pink! Because that’s the only color women like?! Why pink? And who decided that? Well I googled it and turns out that it’s actually a thing tossed by Gender Reveal Industry! Another business thing and why am I not surprised at all! They cannot pick more women executives without a law being enforced but they get to pick a color for us!

Also the messages we receive wishing us ‘Happy Women’s Day!’ Trust me even if you spend half of the energy in stopping at least one patriarchal  act at your home it would actually make a difference! But alas! You have to agree, there is no equality if at every stage a woman has to listen to advice like go for a certain career, or do not take night shift, get married at proper age, have children at proper age and what not! Doesn’t that list have all the important decisions of a person’s life? Shouldn’t it be; choose a career you like, do the job that gives justice to your talent and ambitions, marry when you find someone you want to marry, have children if you want to or there are other options! I mean I find it hypocritical that you think a woman who is mature enough to marry or raise a child is not mature enough to choose a partner or to decide when to have a child!!! Isn’t raising a child harder than deciding to have it or not!! But let’s stop because I can write pages about it and it won’t change anything! 

And by the time you come to this point you have probably made your mind that I am feminist! But I never considered myself one! I think every gender is equal emotionally. But when it comes to physical endurance, women are superior! I mean growing another body and then it literally bringing it out of you seems bloody & painful! Other than that, every gender is equal and should have equal rights! Well we should but the reality is quite different! This time I do want everyone to see the bigger picture. Yes, I am PRIVILEGED and I am GRATEFUL for that! But it is not just about me, and call this a woke opinion if you want but many don’t get to speak in front of the so called dominant gender forget getting proper education or having a career or marrying someone they love. 

If we decide to tell just the history of women and their progress, as a bigger picture not much has changed and that is disappointing. But on a smaller scale we are drawing our picture passionately. And I hope, one day, even on a larger scale, the painting will be as glorious as the experience of being a woman is. And I do think the men can help us to paint that glorious picture. All they have to do is think, ‘would I be okay if someone did this to me or someone said it to me’. It is as simple as that! Treat others the way you want to be treated. Afterall we cannot survive without one another then why not celebrate each other the best way we can rather than celebrating just one day!

I started writing this blog with a lot of anger but now that I have finished writing it, I am at peace and hopeful just like in the picture! And I want it to give some hope to others as well!

One thought on “HAPPY WOMEN’S DAY?!?

  1. This is the bitter truth of our society we need to change. And it starts at home. Treat your mother, sister, daughter a little more special, not only on women’s day but everyday. Life has a meaning to it if you can laugh and smile with your loved ones.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment